Artists’ book exhibition in Bremen, Germany

Posted by on Mar 17, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

The book Coal Tree Salt Sea is going to be on show at the Kunstlerbucher fur Alles (Artists’ Books for Everything)

at the Centre for Artists’ Publications at Weserburg Museum of Modern Art in Bremen Germany

The exhibition is from 2nd June to 6th August 2017

“Art books are among the special phenomena of contemporary art. Since their emergence in the 1950s, they have established themselves as a new art form worldwide. Artist’s books are autonomous works of art in the form of a book. As a work of art in a larger edition, they stand for the democratization of art as well as for artistic mobility and networking. They are published as published, printed and duplicated independent works from an artistic conception and in the tradition of Dieter Roth, Ilya Kabakov and Marcel Broodthaers in Europe, Ed Ruscha and Michael Snow in North America, Ulises Carríon, Clemente Padin and Edgardo Antonio Vigo in Latin America , William Kentridge in Africa, Yoko Ono in Asia and Robert Jacks in Australia.

Art books are among the special phenomena of contemporary art. Since their emergence in the 1950s, they have established themselves as a new art form worldwide. Artist’s books are autonomous works of art in the form of a book. As a work of art in a larger edition, they stand for the democratization of art as well as for artistic mobility and networking. They are published as published, printed and duplicated independent works from an artistic conception and in the tradition of Dieter Roth, Ilya Kabakov and Marcel Broodthaers in Europe, Ed Ruscha and Michael Snow in North America, Ulises Carríon, Clemente Padin and Edgardo Antonio Vigo in Latin America , William Kentridge in Africa, Yoko Ono in Asia and Robert Jacks in Australia.

Weserburg Centre for Artists’ Publications